LoveGreenBaby

Life is about to change

Tiny gDiapers { What you need to know }

on August 26, 2013

So we are about 1 month in to cloth diapering and I thought I would share a few things that I’ve learned about the Tiny g’s.

The number one thing I’ve learned is that they are designed for the disposable inserts not cloth. This was extremely frustrating for me to find out, not because I was mad about not using cloth (but that was part of it) it was because of how I found out….leaks.  After a lot of reading and thinking that my diapers were faulty I came to find out that it’s because of how they are made, and that this is how the company intended them.

I don’t know exactly why but the tiny g’s have the plastic liner as a part of the diaper not as a pouch. Because of this the velcro is stitched on to the diaper and through the plastic layer this is where everything leaks through, those TINY little holes. When baby puts weight on the cloth it pushes the liquid down and out 😦  However if you use them with their biodegradable inserts they trap liquid much better and you have no leaks!

If you plan on using Tiny g’s don’t bother with cloth , just use the disposable inserts.

As far as the disposables go they are flushable, Just tear off one of the long sides and dump the insides into the toilet then use the swish stick to break it all up and flush.  There are a few things you need to know about this as well:

  • Make sure you don’t flush 2 in a row, Use the toilet yourself in between flushing in a ‘normal’ fashion to give it time to clear the fluff completely.
  • Make sure you break up the fluff well before flushing with the swish stick. Not just a flick or two but a good stir.
  • If I ended up flushing two in a row w/o a use in between I would just shake the fluff in and put the ‘shell’ in our diaper genie.

I did have one over flow but after I started doing these 3 things I never had another.

So in the end Tiny g’s are not cloth diapers per sae, however they are made with far less crud then most disposable so with that in mind I was much happier putting them on my babies bum. In fact their ingredient list only has 3 things on it Cellulose Rayon Coverstock, Wood Pulp, Sodium Polyacrylate. Sodium Polyacrylate is a moisture absorber and it ‘raises no health concerns’ according to The Good Guide.  I would much rather have that on her than some bleached out chemical filled diaper.

I choose to use it as our overnight diaper (since we still would change once or twice a night) so we could use a diaper cream on her to get rid of the rash she acquired using disposables for the first week out of the hospital. They work great!


One response to “Tiny gDiapers { What you need to know }

  1. […] for us and we were going to use the tiny g’s as our newborn diapers.  Once I figured out that tiny g’s weren’t going to be our day and night solution I needed to find a cheap alternative for the days until she fit into the Gro Via hybrids. If I […]

Leave a comment