LoveGreenBaby

Life is about to change

36 Week Check-Up

on June 18, 2013

Yesterdays check-up went well

I asked more questions this appointment than I think I ever have  but still it was a pretty chill appointment. 

Physical Check-Up:

  • The midwife said she is going to be tall and that she is pretty relaxed in there (ie good heart rate.) But I didn’t get the BPM this time. 
  • We also had to run a bunch of standard tests, some for any labor and delivery (Strep B and HIV) and some that are just because we are doing a water birth/labor (other STD’s.)
  • I’m not going to do internal checks every week but since she was there for the strep B test I’m 1 cm dilated and babies head is WAY down in my pelvis.

My Questions/information from the midwife:

  • vitamin K shot I asked if she thought this was a good idea. I thought I was leaning one way (against it unless trauma warranted) but the problem is I couldn’t find ANY un-biased articles/posts to truly do my research. It’s really hard to make an intelligent decision without proper information. After talking with her however it was pretty simple. We are going to have her get the Vit K shot but we are going to delay it a few hours till after the first feeding and then do it DURING the 2nd feeding.
  • Eye Gel stuff There are a few variations of this but basically its to protect the eyes from an infection that can cause blindness from gonorrhea or chlamydia. So I asked the Midwife if there was any point since I don’t…she said no.
  • The PKU Test, we will do (although it’s probably silly since Ryan is 1/2 Korean and it has to be passed down by both parents.) We will do this one during a feeding also, not immediately.
  • Hepatitis  B immunization We will not be doing this at birth, if it happens it will be in office.

One response to “36 Week Check-Up

  1. Amanda says:

    We did the Vit K shot because there was no real reason NOT to do it and I didn’t want to risk any clotting problems, we also skipped on the eye ointment as my siblings had bad reactions and we are clean as well.

    I was always told that the PKU was done during the heel prick, which is mandatory in MN. According to the Nurses at TMBC it’s not usually done until the 24 hour check-up when they also do hearing and another set of vitals, all at once (I asked so I made sure if there was a nurse change while I was delivering they knew since MY midwife wasn’t able to be there for my labor and delivery that I could tell the new nurses and remind them before delivery) – since they usually take them out of the room for the hearing screening it’s a great chance to shower/bathe and relax if you feel up to it. I fed right after instead of during so there was no pain associated with being in my arms, Josh’s arms or breastfeeding. I wanted to be the ‘hero’ so baby got used to the idea that “momma makes things better” right away. Just a thought.

Leave a comment